Drone
Solutions

Drone inspections enable visual inspections of areas that would otherwise be inaccessible or would incur significant costs to access. The use of a drone for inspection allows our team to take inspectors out of harm’s way in a variety of situations, including confined spaces.

This technology has a demonstrated history in the oil, gas, and petrochemical industries, including terminals, refineries, and remote stations, but it can also be used in almost any other situation that requires working at heights or in confined spaces is required.

Did you know?

  • Videos with lighting can be shot in 4k resolution;
    Photographs can be shot at 0.18 mm per pixel to detect macroscopic flaws.
  • To provide code-compliant visual inspections, modern drones have up to 10000-lumen lighting;
  • Live video streaming from the drone;
    In real-time, both the inspector and the client can see what is being inspected.
  • Post-processing of data may include flaw sizing.

Advantages of Nucleom’s Drone Solution Packages & Expertise

  • Maximized inspection coverage;
  • Avoided working the risk of working at heights;
  • Eliminated facility downtime;
  • Minimized the cost for the owner/operator.
Drone visual inspection

Collision Tolerant Drone

Nucleom inspected a heat exchanger, piping, and ceiling-hung evaporators located at heights located within a refrigeration facility. Configuration of the plant’s piping and equipment presented a challenge provided that the heat exchanger was not easily accessible utilizing the elevator work platform or scaffolding.

Custom scaffolding solutions would have led to additional downtime and cost for the client. Nucleom overcame these challenges by utilizing a collision tolerant drone, the Elios 2, to visually inspect the heat exchanger pressure relief valves, piping, and associated appurtenances.

In addition, Nucleom used the thermography feature of the drone to identify inefficiencies in the heat exchanger and the insulation system of adjacent refrigeration piping.

Drone Inspection in a small space

Solutions
par
drone

Les inspections par drone permettent de réaliser des  inspections visuelles de zones qui seraient autrement inaccessibles ou dont l’accès entraînerait des coûts importants. L’utilisation d’un drone pour l’inspection permet à notre équipe de mettre les inspecteurs hors de danger dans diverses situations, y compris dans des espaces confinés.

Cette technologie a fait ses preuves dans les industries pétrolières, du gaz et de la pétrochimie, notamment dans les terminaux, les raffineries et les stations éloignées, mais elle peut également être utilisée dans presque toutes les autres situations qui nécessitent de travailler en hauteur ou dans des espaces confinés.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Les vidéos avec éclairage peuvent être tournées en résolution 4k;
    Les photographies peuvent être prises à 0,18 mm par pixel pour détecter les défauts macroscopiques.
  • Pour fournir des inspections visuelles conformes aux codes, les drones modernes disposent d’un éclairage pouvant atteindre 10 000 lumens ;
  • Diffusion vidéo en direct depuis le drone ;
    En temps réel, l’inspecteur et le client peuvent voir ce qui est inspecté.
  • Le post-traitement des données peut inclure le dimensionnement des défauts.

Avantages des solutions et de l’expertise des drones de Nucleom

  • Couverture d’inspection maximisée;
  • Éviter les risques liés au travail en hauteur;
  • Élimination des temps d’arrêt des installations;
  • Minimisation des coûts pour le propriétaire/opérateur.
Drone visual inspection

Drone tolérant aux collisions

Nucleom a inspecté un échangeur de chaleur, des tuyauteries et des évaporateurs suspendus au plafond situés en hauteur dans une installation frigorifique. La configuration de la tuyauterie et de l’équipement de l’installation représentait un défi dans la mesure où l’échangeur thermique n’était pas facilement accessible à l’aide de la plate-forme de travail de l’ascenseur ou d’un échafaudage.

Des solutions d’échafaudage sur mesure auraient entraîné des temps d’arrêt et des coûts supplémentaires pour le client. Nucleom a surmonté ces difficultés en utilisant un drone tolérant aux collisions, l’Elios 2, pour inspecter visuellement les valves de décharge de l’échangeur thermique, la tuyauterie et les accessoires associés.

De plus, Nucleom a utilisé la fonction thermographique du drone pour identifier les inefficacités de l’échangeur de chaleur et du système d’isolation de la tuyauterie de réfrigération adjacente.

Drone Inspection in a small space